Tuesday, January 6, 2015

FOUR FOR COOPERSTOWN:  Randy Johnson (97.3%), Pedro Martinez (91.1%), John Smoltz (82.9%), and Craig Biggio (82.7%) have been inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame, with Mike Piazza (69.9%), Jeff  Bagwell (55.7%), and Tim Raines (55%) falling short. This is the first time since 1955 that four players were elected by the writers and it still wasn't enough, owing to the 10-vote limit.

Gary Sheffield, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, and Nomar Garciaparra all will live to see another day; Carlos Delgado is one-and-done. Changes from last year's ballot are below the fold.

[Our ballot had Johnson, Martinez, Biggio, and Bagwell in, and Smoltz one vote shy.]

Biggio +7.9%
Piazza +7.7%
Bagwell +3.4%
Raines +8.9%
Schilling +10.2%
Clemens +2.3%
Bonds +2.1%
Smith +0.3%
E.Martinez +1.8%
Trammell +4.3%
Mussina +4.3%
Kent -1.2%
McGriff +1.2%
Walker +1.6%
McGwire -1.0%
Mattingly +0.9%
Sosa -0.6%


  1. Alex_Gordon3:16 PM

    Aaron Boone got two votes!

  2. Genevieve3:22 PM

    How rare is it for players to get in on the first ballot like Johnson, Martinez, and Smoltz?