Thursday, June 23, 2016

JONI MITCHELL WAITS PATIENTLY, PENSIVELY: Having recognized Carole King last year, the Kennedy Center Honors will stay in Laurel Canyon for one more year to hang a rainbow ribbon and medal on James Taylor this December, along with Al Pacino, Mavis Staples, pianist Martha Argerich, and The Eagles, whose intended 2015 award was delayed by Glenn Frey's illness, ultimately resulting in his death.

In 2008, Benner noted that Pacino was certainly on the "how has he not won yet?" list, along with Lou Reed, David Bowie, and Prince. (The latter two may have been invited.) Also on the never-awarded list: James L. Brooks (come on!), Jerry Lewis, Martin Scorsese, Neil Young, Norman Lear, Dick Van Dyke, Mary Tyler Moore, Glenn Close, and Gene Hackman.

No comments:

Post a Comment